Federal Skilled Trade “FST”

Person holding the Canadian flag

The Federal Skilled Trades (FST) Program is a immigration program operated by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) that allows skilled tradespeople to apply for permanent residence in Canada. It is designed to help address labor shortages in certain trades and to help skilled tradespeople who wish to immigrate to Canada find employment in their field. 

To be eligible for the FSTP, candidates must meet certain criteria, including: 

  • Having at least two years of full-time work experience, or an equivalent amount of part-time experience, in a skilled trade within the past five years.
  • Meeting the job requirements for that trade as set out in the National Occupational Classification (NOC)
  • Having the necessary certification or accreditation for the skilled trade, if it is required in Canada.
  • Having a job offer or a certificate of qualification in their skilled trade issued by a provincial or territorial authority.

To be eligible to take a Red Seal examination, individuals must have completed an apprenticeship program or have a combination of work experience and trade school education that is recognized by the CCDA. They must also hold a valid trade certificate in their province or territory of residence. 

The Red Seal program is voluntary, and not all trades in Canada offer a Red Seal examination. Candidates who meet these eligibility requirements may apply to the FSTP through the Express Entry system, which is an online immigration application system used by IRCC to process applications for certain economic immigration programs. 

Once a candidate has submitted their application through Express Entry, they will be given a score based on factors such as their age, education, work experience, language proficiency, and other factors. Candidates with the highest scores will be invited to apply for permanent residence through the FSTP. 

One of Stayincanada immigration consultants can help individuals understand the requirements for the FSTP and assist with the application process. We can provide guidance on the documentation required and help ensure that the application is complete and meets all of the necessary requirements. 


Smiling family having a breakfast

Federal Skilled Worker

The Federal Skilled Worker (FSW) program is a Canadian immigration program that allows individuals with certain skills and work experience to immigrate to Canada permanently.

Table with data including percentages, numbers, Canadian flag and IP addresses.

Canadian Experience Class "CEC"

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is a immigration program that allows foreign workers with skilled work experience in Canada to apply for permanent residency. To be eligible for the CEC, an individual must have at least 12 months of full-time (or equivalent part-time) skilled work experience in Canada within the last three years. The skilled work experience must be in a National Occupational Classification (NOC) level O, A, or B, TEER 0, 1, 2 and 3 occupations.